Boys Brigade


 

Image description
Image description
Image description

 

The Boys Brigade meets weekly on a Friday evening using the church hall and BB Hut. The BB is open to all boys in the community and girls can join too. It is one of the few uniformed organisations in the town and serves as a form of outreach. The BB holds regular church services throughout the year and camping plays a major part of their pursuits. No electricity, no water - just fun for all.


The Boys Brigade is divided into three sections according to age.

The Anchor Section meet between 6pm and 7pm in the Church Hall and caters for boys and girls in Primary 2 and 3. Activities include Team games, Story telling, Football, Hockey, Basketball, Parachute and other fun things.

The Junior Section meet between 6.30pm and 7.45pm in the BB Hut for boys or girls in Primary 4,5 and 6. Activities include Drill, Trampoline, Volleyball, Team games, and Badge work. Junior Section members are eligible to attend BB Camps.

The Company Section meet in the BB Hut at 7.15pm and is open to boys and girls in Primary 7 and Secondary School. They have a formal Opening Service in full uniform followed by Badge work. There is a new system with the Compass Award and Discovery Award badges, which includes work in the community, recreation and skills. Members must attain a minimum number of points in a session to be awarded the badge. The physical activities which follow include Drill, PT warm ups, Vaulting, Mat work and 5-a-side Dodge ball.

 

 

Anchor Section : Primary 2 & 3

6:00pm - 7pm in Church Hall

 

Junior Section: Primary 4, 5 & 6

6:30pm -7.45pm in BB Hut

 

Company Section: Primary 7 and upwards

7:15pm - 10.00pm in BB Hut

 

Junior and Company Sections in uniform please.

 

A warm welcome to all new and old members


Forthcoming events

 

All Parade Nights are in Uniform.

  

2019

 

SUMMER TERM ACTIVITIES


Fri 7 June                    1900           No BBs   -   Gazeebo and Event Shelter up at Whinnieknowe

Sat 8 June                    1100                Family Fun Day Set-up at St Ninian’s Church

1900                Remove Gazeebo and Event Shelter

Sun 9 June                   1430                Family Fun Day, St Ninian’s Church

Fri 14 June                        1900*              Games Night.   Duty Staff – LF, AF

Fri 21 June                                          No BBs

Fri 28 June                  1900*              Games Night.   Duty Staff – MH, AF

Sat 29 June                       1200                Church Fayre

Fri 5 July                                             No BBs

Fri 12 July                         1900*              Games Night.   Duty Staff – LF, SF

Fri 19 July                         1900                No BBs   -   Marquee up at Jubilee Park

Sat 20 July                        1900                Marquee down

Fri 26 July                         1900                Games Night.   Duty Staff - DH

Fri 2 August                      1900*          No BBs

Fri 9 August                      1900*              Games Night.   Duty Staff

Fri 16 August                    1400                Nairn Games – Tents up

Sat 17 August                   1600                Nairn Games – Tents down

Fri 23 August                    Sect Times*     Enrolment Night

Sun 25 August                  0800                Munro for Cameron – Push to the Top

Fri 30 August                    Sect Times       Parade Night

Fri 6 – Sun 8 September*                       Expedition – Follow the cliff (provisional)

Fri 20 – Sun 22 September*                     Adventure Weekend at Dalguise, Dunkeld

Fri 11 – Sun 13 October*                         Weekend Camp at Loch an Eilean

           

Further dates and amendments will be printed as and when known.

All Parade Nights are in Uniform.