Boys Brigade


 

Image description
Image description
Image description

 

The Boys Brigade meets weekly on a Friday evening using the church hall and BB Hut. The BB is open to all boys in the community and girls can join too. It is one of the few uniformed organisations in the town and serves as a form of outreach. The BB holds regular church services throughout the year and camping plays a major part of their pursuits. No electricity, no water - just fun for all.


The Boys Brigade is divided into three sections according to age.

The Anchor Section meet between 6pm and 7pm in the Church Hall and caters for boys and girls in Primary 2 and 3. Activities include Team games, Story telling, Football, Hockey, Basketball, Parachute and other fun things.

The Junior Section meet between 6.30pm and 7.45pm in the BB Hut for boys or girls in Primary 4,5 and 6. Activities include Drill, Trampoline, Volleyball, Team games, and Badge work. Junior Section members are eligible to attend BB Camps.

The Company Section meet in the BB Hut at 7.15pm and is open to boys and girls in Primary 7 and Secondary School. They have a formal Opening Service in full uniform followed by Badge work. There is a new system with the Compass Award and Discovery Award badges, which includes work in the community, recreation and skills. Members must attain a minimum number of points in a session to be awarded the badge. The physical activities which follow include Drill, PT warm ups, Vaulting, Mat work and 5-a-side Dodge ball.

 

 

Anchor Section : Primary 2 & 3

6:00pm - 7pm in Church Hall

 

Junior Section: Primary 4, 5 & 6

6:30pm -7.45pm in BB Hut

 

Company Section: Primary 7 and upwards

7:15pm - 10.00pm in BB Hut

 

Junior and Company Sections in uniform please.

 

A warm welcome to all new and old members


Forthcoming events

 

All Parade Nights are in Uniform.

  


 

AUTUMN TERM ACTIVITIES

 

Fri 1 November*         Sect Times       Parade Night

Sat 2 – Sun 3 November                     Sports Leader Course, Carronvale (Presidents only)

Thu 7 November         1830                Colour Party Rehearsal – Nairn Old Parish Church

Fri 8 November           Sect Times       Parade Night

Sat 9 November          1000                Poppy Sales – High Street

Sat 9 November          1300                Colour Party Rehearsal – War Memorial

Sun 10 November       0845                Remembrance Day Parade

Fri 15 November*       1800                Organ Instruction

                                    Sect Times       Parade Night

Sun 17 November       1800                Battalion 10 Pin Bowling (Inverness) (Co Sect only)

Fri 22 November         Sect Times       Parade Night

Fri 29 November*       1800                Organ Instruction

                                    Sect Times       Parade Night

Fri 6 December           Sect Times       Parade Night

Fri 13 December*       Sect Times       Christmas Events

Fri 20 December*                               Holiday

Tues 24 December      2100                Soup and Teas prior to the Watch Night Service

Fri 27 December*                               Holiday



NEW YEAR ACTIVITIES

2020

Fri 3 January*                                     Holiday

Fri 10 January*           1800                Organ Instruction

                                    Sect Times       Parade Night

Sun 26 January            0930                Build Your Skills Course, Inverness (Pres only)

Sat 1 February             0900                Battalion Cross Country, Inverness (Co Sect only)

Sun 2 February            0930                Youth Leader Course (part 1), Inverness (Pres only)

Sun 1 March                0930                Youth Leader Course (part 2), Inverness (Pres only)

Sun 15 March              1000                Battalion Annual Parade

Sat 16 May                  1400                Battalion Sports Day, Culloden.   (All Sections)

 

Organ Instruction is on the Fridays shown at 1800.   The Church Organ is also available for practice each Sunday after the morning service.

           

Further dates and amendments will be printed as and when known.